Every new user who reaches out to you through email, phone or any other channel integrated with your helpdesk, will be created as a contact. A contact can contain details such as name, email, twitter, facebook, phone number, company, address etc. 


Sometimes, the same customer will reach out to the helpdesk through multiple channels and every time they do, a new contact is created in the helpdesk. Admins and agents can merge these multiple contact points of the same person into one contact. This makes it easier for the agents to pull up contextual information like recent tickets, company information and more.


Primary and Secondary Contacts:


While merging several contacts, one contact should be chosen as the primary contact. The primary contact acts as a base of the merged contact by retaining all the basic details such as name, phone number, address and company details. Merging will move all the tickets, notes and contact information from the secondary contact(s) into the primary contact. Also, the secondary contacts will be deleted after merging and cannot be restored.


A quick guide to merging contacts:

  • Login to your support portal.
  • Go to Customers > Contacts.
  • You will see the complete list of your contacts here.
  • Open the contact that you want to merge.
  • Click on the Merge button on the top right.



  • In the Merge Contact pop up window, search for and select the contact that needs to be merged with this contact.
  • The selected contacts to be merged will be displayed on the left. You can select the primary contact by simply checking on the mark as primary check mark next to it.
  • The primary contact holds all the basic information of the contact and adds the data from the secondary contact(s) into it. 
  • Once you have selected the contacts to be merged, click Continue.


  • Finally click on the Confirm and Merge button.
  • Your contacts will now be merged into one.


Note: You can merge only upto 5 email addresses and not more than one twitter account, one facebook account, one work phone number and one mobile number into one contact. 

In case of overlapping data between the contacts in the fields of number, address or company name, only the information of the primary contact is retained.

Unverified and Verified accounts:


While merging an unverified email address with a verified email address, an activation will be necessary based on the selection of the primary contact.

  • If the verified email address is selected as the primary contact during merging, the other email addresses merged into it will be verified automatically.
  • If the primary contact is unverified, an activation email should be sent manually to any one of the contact by clicking on the Send activation email option.
  • If you send the activation email to a secondary email address, it will automatically be made as the primary email address of the contact.





  • Once the contact is verified, the user can log in using any of the email addresses and the same password. 

Admins and agents can merge multiple contact points of the same person into one contact. This makes it easier for the agents to pull up contextual information like recent tickets, company information and more.


Primary and Secondary Contacts:


While merging several contacts, one contact should be marked as the primary contact. The primary contact acts as a base of the merged contact by retaining all the basic details such as name, phone number, address and company details. Merging will move all the tickets, notes and contact information from the secondary contact(s) into the primary contact. The secondary contact(s) will be deleted after merging and cannot be restored.


A quick guide to merging contacts:

  • Login to your support portal

  • Click on the Contacts icon on the left panel to see the complete list of your contacts

  • Open the contact that you want to merge and click on the Merge button on the action bar.



  • In the Merge Contact slider window, search for and select the contact that needs to be merged with this contact
  • The selected contacts to be merged will be displayed. Mark the primary contact by simply checking on the mark as primary stamp, towards the right of each contact.
  • The primary contact holds all the basic information of the contact and adds the data from the secondary contact(s) into it
  • Once you have selected the contacts to be merged, click Continue


  • Review the information you would like to associate with the primary contact

  • Finally click on the Confirm button. The secondary contact will be deleted and cannot be restored. This operation cannot be undone.

  • Your contacts will now be merged


Note: You can have a maximum of 10 emails, 20 companies, one work and mobile phone saved to a contact. In case of overlapping data between the contacts in the fields of number, address or company name, you can choose which information to retain.