When you have a large team or a lot of agents contributing to your Knowledge Base, features that enable easy collaboration are always helpful. Below are some scenarios to provide you more insight on what Freshdesk offers to streamline this process:


1. You are creating/editing an article and want to proactively keep your content ready


Drafts allow you to manage an offline version of your KBase articles. For example, if your team has a feature release coming up, you can prepare all the content regarding the feature ahead of time and replace the draft version by publishing it once the feature goes live. 


When writing content for your solution articles, you can choose to save them as drafts and publish them later. If you just Save the article, it will go into your Drafts folder. You can view your drafts under Solutions > Drafts.




When you click on the Navigation menu:



2. You are editing a published article that you would like your team to review


Sometimes, you might want to make edits to the published version of an article that you would like your team to review. In this case, you can save a draft of the published article you edited and publish it over the existing published version once your team approves of the new changes suggested by you. Any changes you make while you edit an article will be autosaved.



Note: The changes you make in Article Properties will not be autosaved or available under Drafts.


Any files you choose to attach in the articles will not be auto-saved. However, an alert will be triggered when the agent tries to navigate to other pages without clicking Save after adding/deleting an attachment.



3. You/other agents are trying to edit the same article: 


When you are editing an article and your colleague tries to edit the same article, the Agent Collision feature kicks in and prevents the second person from editing the article. However, the second agent will still be able to preview the article by clicking on the Preview Draft option above the article, which lets agents have a look at the last-saved version of that article and provides you a view of what the customer gets to see.


Agent Collision Alert:



Preview Draft:

 



When you have a large team or a lot of agents contributing to your Knowledge Base, features that enable easy collaboration are always helpful. Below are some scenarios to provide you more insight on what these functionalities are: 


1. You are creating/editing an article and want to proactively keep your content ready


Drafts allow you to manage an offline version of your KBase articles. For example, if your team has a feature release coming up, you can prepare all the content regarding the feature ahead of time and replace the draft version by publishing it once the feature goes live. 


When writing content for your solution articles, you can choose to save them as drafts and publish them later. If you just Save the article, it will go into your 'Drafts' folder. You can view your drafts by navigating to Solutions > Drafts (on the right panel of the Solutions page). You can also view all your drafts by clicking on the navigation menu (hamburger icon) on the top left corner.




When you click on the Navigation menu:



2. You are editing a published article that you would like your team to review


Sometimes, you might want to make edits to the published version of an article that you would like your team to review. In this case, you can save a draft of the published article you edited and publish it over the existing published version once your team approves of the new changes suggested by you. Any changes you make while you edit an article will be auto-saved.




Note: The changes you make in the 'Article Properties' panel (on the right side) of the Article page will not be auto-saved or be available under Drafts.


Any files you choose to attach in the articles will not be auto-saved. However, an alert will be triggered when the agent tries to navigate to other pages without hitting the 'Save' button upon adding/deleting an attachment.



3. You/other agents are trying to edit the same article: 


When you are editing an article and your colleague tries to edit the same article, the Agent Collision feature kicks in and prevents the second person from editing the article. Eg. Mark and Amy are colleagues. Amy starts editing an article because she wants to correct some grammatical errors. At the same time, Mark thinks of adding in new updates to this article. When he visits the article page, he will not be able to make any edits because of the agent collision feature. However, he will be able to preview the article by clicking on the Preview Draft option above the article. The Preview Draft option enables all agents to have a look at the last saved version of that article and provides you a view of what the customer gets to see.


Agent Collision Alert:



Preview Draft: