When a conversation in the ticket extends to more than a couple of interactions, support agents often collect all the necessary information about the scenario from the customer, add more details like Username, Credentials, and ID, etc. in a private note before they move the ticket to another team. But the private note often gets buried down there in the ticket and it's not really easy to find.


The Summary app can be used to let agents from other groups/teams know:

  • Progress on the ticket so far and

  • Important information that has been repeatedly referenced


This adds a section below the ticket description, the section can be used to summarize everything the support team or support agent knows about a ticket before they assign the ticket they worked on to another team.


For example, let's say a customer, Sadie has raised a ticket saying she is unable to login into her account and she is sure that the password is correct. In this case, the assigned agent, Aaron, asks the customer when was the last time she logged into the account. There are multiple questions and replies being exchanged and Aaron comes to a conclusion that he has to assign the ticket to Ben from the dev team to get this sorted. 


With the Summary feature, Aaron can simply add a summary like the screenshot below. 


 


By doing so, Ben (or anyone whose help is required on the ticket)  is on the same page, and he does not have to scroll the thread to find information like the Account id or how many times the customer tried to log in etc. Once Ben starts working on the ticket, he can edit/update the summary too. 


To edit/update the summary of the ticket, click on the top right corner in the summary section. 



Note: This Summary is similar to a private note and would not be visible to the customers on the portal.


If the app is uninstalled at one point and reinstalled later, the details you earlier added would reappear on the ticket, thus ensuring no data is lost.


You can install the Summary app, here