Auto Triage, powered by Freddy, auto-classifies incoming tickets to save agents’ time and effort. Auto Triage learns from existing ticket data to provide ticket field value suggestions to agents for new tickets. In this article, we’ll discuss how to set up and manage Auto Triage suggestions for ticket fields.


TABLE OF CONTENTS


Request new fields


To get started with Auto Triage, you can request suggestions for specific ticket fields. Here is how you can do that.

  • Login to your Freshdesk account as an Admin
  • Go to the ‘Admin’ section, scroll down to the ‘Freddy Configuration’ section, and click on ‘Auto Triage
  • If you open the Auto Triage section for the first time, you will be shown a welcome screen explaining the feature
  • Click on ‘Start
  • On the next screen, click on ‘Request new


  • Use the drop-down menu in the pop-up to select the fields you want to enable Auto Triage predictions for


  • Once selected, click on ‘Confirm
  • This will forward your request to the Freshdesk support team

Note: Customers using Freddy Starter (built-in to the Forest plans of Freshdesk and Freshdesk Omnichannel) can request Auto Triage suggestions for default categorical fields (Type, Group, and Priority). Customers using Freddy Ultimate can request Auto Triage suggestions for any categorical custom field.


What happens after you request new fields


Once you submit your request, it is processed by Freshdesk’s Data Science team. We will keep you updated on the status of your request via email. Depending on the status of your request, you will see the following tags next to each requested ticket field on the Auto Triage home screen.


Requested


This is shown while the Freshdesk team is processing your request for Auto Triage suggestions for a particular field. During this time, our team checks if your existing data is sufficient for Auto Triage to learn from and make accurate ticket field value suggestions for new tickets.




Insufficient data


In case our team notices that the existing data for a particular ticket field is not enough to make suggestions for new tickets, you will see the ‘Insufficient data’ tag next to the field.


Ready


Once our team approves and processes the request for a new field, the ticket field will have a ‘Ready’ tag next to it. This indicates that you are ready to enable suggestions for this field. However, the suggestions will not be turned on until you enable it manually.




How to enable or disable suggestions for any ticket field


Enabling suggestions


  • Once a ticket field is marked ‘Ready’, you can enable suggestions by clicking on the toggle button next to the ticket field
  • As soon as that is done, the ‘Status’ of the ticket field should change to ‘Enabled
  • Auto Triage will start sharing its predictions for this field for all new incoming tickets

Disabling suggestions


  • You can disable predictions for a ticket field (that is already ‘Enabled’) by using the same toggle button
  • As soon as that is done, the ‘Status’ of the ticket field should change to ‘Disabled
  • Auto Triage will stop predicting values for this field for all new incoming tickets

Automatically update ticket field values based on Auto Triage’s suggestions

You can choose to automatically update ticket field values based on the suggestions provided by Freddy. Once enabled, agents will not need to manually apply the suggestions shared by Auto Triage. They will, however, be able to modify the field values for any tickets at a later time. By default, this setting is disabled for your account.


By enabling this setting and pairing it with automation rules, you can classify and route incoming tickets to the right agents/groups without agent intervention.


Here’s how you can enable this setting.


  • Click on the ‘vertical dots’ next to the toggle button for your desired ticket field



  • Click on ‘Settings
  • On the settings page, check the ‘Automatic update’ feature



  • Scroll down and click on the ‘Save’ button at the bottom of the page


Delete a ticket field


You can choose to delete a ticket field while it is in the ‘Requested’ state. You can delete the field from the Auto Triage admin section. Once deleted, your request for that particular field will not be processed further.


Note: You can only delete a ticket field while it is in the ‘Requested’ state. For fields in any other state, you can choose to disable suggestions if required.


How to delete a ticket field


  • Click on the ‘vertical dots’ next to the toggle button for your desired ticket field



  • Click on ‘Delete'